Public Protection
Official Cv Pp

Official Verification

Basic Online Verification Pp

Basic Online Verification


The National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA) is the accreditation body of Institute for Credentialing Excellence (ICE). The NCCA's mission is to ensure the health, welfare and safety of the public through the accreditation of a variety of individual certification programs that assess professional competency. The NCCA sets standards that include Essential Elements that must be met by organizations offering certification programs.

The NCCA Standards for the Accreditation of Certification Programs categories:

  1. Purpose, Governance and Resources
  2. Responsibilities to Stakeholders
  3. Assessment Instruments
  4. Recertification
  5. Maintaining Accreditation

BOC requirements are often originated from NCCA standards. These standards answer questions as to why ATs must complete continuing education units (CEUs) and why the BOC and NATA are 2 separate organizations. Examples include but are not limited to:

  • BOC recertification must demonstrate that continued competence is in the best interest of the public and athletic training profession.
  • BOC Recertification Requirements must measure or enhance continued competence of ATs.
  • The BOC must be structured and governed in a way that is appropriate for the profession, occupation, role or skill and that ensures autonomy in decision making over essential certification activities.

The BOC has the only accredited certification program for Athletic Trainers in the US. Since 1982, the BOC has been continuously accredited by the NCCA and must undergo review and reaccreditation every 5 years.


The mission of the BOC is “to provide exceptional credentialing programs for healthcare professionals to assure protection of the public.” To attain certification, an individual must 1) graduate from an athletic training program accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of Athletic Training Education (CAATE) or meet the ARTI or CATA eligibility requirements and 2) pass the BOC exam.

The CAATE is the agency responsible for the accreditation of more than 360 professional (entry level) Athletic Training programs, 16 Post-Professional Degree Programs and 2 Residencies. The American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP), the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP), the American Orthopedic Society for Sports Medicine (AOSSM), and the National Athletic Trainers' Association (NATA) cooperate to sponsor the CAATE and collaborate to develop the Standards for Entry Level Athletic Training Educational Programs.