Header Image - BOC Partners


ncca_logo.gifThe National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA) is the accreditation body of Institute for Credentialing Excellence (ICE). The NCCA's mission is to ensure the health, welfare and safety of the public through the accreditation of a variety of individual certification programs that assess professional competency. The NCCA sets standards that must be met by organizations offering certification programs. The NCCA's Standards for the Accreditation of Certification Programs exceed the requirements set forth by the American Psychological Association and the US Equal Employment Opportunity Commission.

The standards are organized into five categories:
  1. Purpose, Governance and Resources
  2. Responsibilities to Stakeholders
  3. Assessment Instruments
  4. Recertification
  5. Maintaining Accreditation
Each standard includes Essential Elements that must be met. Certification programs may apply and be accredited by the NCCA if they demonstrate compliance with the accreditation standards.

The BOC meets all NCCA standards; BOC requirements are often originated from NCCA standards. These standards answer questions as to why ATs must complete CEUs and why the BOC and NATA are two separate organizations. Examples include but are not limited to:
  • BOC recertification must demonstrate that continued competence is in the best interest of the public and athletic training profession.
  • BOC Recertification Requirements must measure or enhance continued competence of ATs.
  • The BOC must be structured and governed in a way that is appropriate for the profession, occupation, role or skill and that ensures autonomy in decision making over essential certification activities.
The BOC has the only accredited certification program for ATs in the US. Since 1982, the BOC has been continuously accredited by the NCCA and must undergo review and reaccreditation every 5 years.